Each year, Williams honors members of the college for outstanding accomplishment and service. Bicentennial Medals, honoring distinguished achievement, are awarded in September’s Convocation exercises. Copeland, Ephraim Williams, Kellogg, Rogerson, and Thurston awards are bestowed at the annual meeting of the Society of Alumni, and Joseph’s Coat is awarded at a special Reunion Weekend luncheon. Extraordinary recognition for extraordinary people. Learn more about them all on this site.

And congratulations to our 2017 Bicentennial Medalists!

This year’s recipients are:

  • Ira Mickenberg ’72 
    The founder and director of the National Defender Training Project has dedicated his career to improving the quality of legal representation given to indigent criminal defendants in the U.S.
  • Dr. Richard Besser ’81
    A pediatrician and former leader at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, he has traveled the globe covering major medical news stories for ABC News and was recently named CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
  • Wendy Young ’83
    As president of KIND (Kids in Need of Defense), the law and immigration policy expert leads a team that works to assist and defend unaccompanied refugee and immigrant children in the U.S.
  • Adam Schlesinger ’89
    Considered one of the nimblest artists in the music industry, he is the co-founder of the band Fountains of Wayne, and also writes and produces songs for television, film, and theater. He has won Emmy and Grammy Awards and received Oscar and Tony nominations.
  • Mary Dana Hinton ’92
    As president of the College of Saint Benedict, her passion for educational equity is reflected in her commitment to ensuring underrepresented students have access to a liberal arts education.